Awards & Competitions

The Inventure Prize

The Inventure Prize at Georgia Tech was established in 2008 as a faculty-sponsored initiative to encourage inventiveness on the part of its student body. The finals are broadcast live on television with the awarding of a grand prize of $20,000 and legal sponsorship by Georgia Tech of the patenting procedures. Industrial design students have placed in several years.

  • In 2017, Veronica Young and Nora Johnson (pictured above), industrial design majors, were finalists for their transportable parallel bars, called Gaitway, used for physical therapy for children up to age 10.
  • In 2014, first place was awarded to a team, Team SafiChoo, composed of two ID students, Jasmine Burton and Erin Cobb, and a Chemical Engineering student, Brandie Banner, for their design of an innovative mobile toilet for developing countries. The team also received the People’s Choice Award.
  • In 2013, another ID major, Basheer Tome, was also selected as a finalist for his design of a toaster, “Hue,” with the capability of registering by color the degree of toast range. While Basheer did not receive one of the cash awards, his toaster design was reported on in Newsweek and eventually went viral with all of its social media exposure.
  • In 2012, Matthew Stoddard, another industrial design major, won Second Place for his design of a pressure-sensitive capacitive stylus designed for precision that he named the “Stylii.”
  • In 2011, industrial design major Daniel Chaney won First Place for his design of the “Slide-Capo,” a guitar accessory integrating the slide and the capo to allow for faster and smoother playing and the possibility of incorporating new techniques.
  • In 2010, Joyce Zou, an industrial design major, was selected as a finalist with her design of a portable coffee maker, “Express Press,” designed to improve coffee brewing techniques.

The Orange Sparkle Ball | Make 10 Award

The School of Industrial Design presents The Orange Sparkle Ball | Make 10 Award, which recognizes entrepreneurship and innovation. It is given each spring to the students presenting products for sale at the Make 10 event and recognizes products that exhibit innovation, manufacturability, and marketability. The 2016 winners are:

  • 1st Place: Sonia McCall / Wiff Essential Oil Dispenser / Ceramic characters that add scent to any room
  • 2nd Place: Mallory Becker / CheckMate Travel Chess Set / Made from cement, acrylic and vinyl fabric
  • 3rd Place: Sara Allen / Mixt Bowties / Bowties with changeable fabric and a wooden tie

Along with cash, each winner receives 3 months of free use of the new "Prototype Prime” incubator space in Peachtree Corners. This allows them to continue to make products after they graduate and start an Etsy Store!

Richard John Livingstone Martin Humanitarian Design Award

The School also presents the Richard John Livingstone Martin Humanitarian Design Award, a juried competition which recognizes designs that improve the human condition. The 2016 winners receiving a cash award were Hareen Godthi, Sam Harvey, and Xueting Zhang for their Bookmobile Project.

The Jury’s comments:
It is a comprehensive and very sophisticated design, with a keen sense of the 21st century bookmobile’s problems and opportunities. Strong graphic strategies communicate the breadth and depth of the proposal. This is a wonderful answer to the humanitarian problem of illiteracy. We’d love to see this roll into an underserved Atlanta neighborhood and make a difference!